The fit race 'cross and 'cross gets 'em filthy!

BASP and Company Come Through

29 November 2012

Clif Bar Bay Area Super Prestige Cyclocross returned to Candlestick Point this past weekend for cyclocross racing on a mostly different course. The sandy sections had become firm, tacky mud after seeding and the recent rains.

As forewarned by race promoter Tom Simpson, the park was edged with green grass. The ‘Bridge of Sighs’ took its place toward the end of the lap with Candlestick Park as its backdrop. All four plank barriers sat one after the other. And, the course did tread new ground going out to the north east corner of the Recreation Area.

Some of the racing was fast with stiff competition. Cody Kaiser and Tobin Ortenblad, the young guns from California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized, treated the Elite Men’s race to some top notch ‘cross in a fast-paced race. For most of the laps, seven to eight riders formed a leading train with the lead changing hands frequently, as riders took turns pulling.

With the laps quickly running out, Aaron Bradford (Bicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster) found an opportune place in the race as the train reached a treacherous, rocky run-up/ride-up. Bradford rode up and over first, leaving riders caught behind Ben Jacques-Maynes (Ritte/Bear Development) running up with his single speed. Bradford pressed his position, opened a gap, and rode out the last two laps for the win.

Bradford Crests the ‘Bridge of Sighs’ ahead of Kaiser, Ben Jacques-Maynes, and Ortenbald

The Elite Women’s race was a Tale of Two races, each involving a pair of battling riders. Up front, Karen Brems (Team Rambuski Law) and Kerry Barnholt-Bonar contested the lead as they took turns pulling around the course. Emily Kachorek (TBB.CX) and Ellen Sherrill (Bicycle Bluebook/GRS/Rock Lobster) followed behind in their fight for third.

Brems on her way to Winning in Elite Women

Brems managed to grab a small lead, going over the barriers on the final lap, and “inched” away from Barnholt-Bonar. The Rambuski Law rider confidently crossed the finish line in first after ensuring she got through the “sketchy” final turn. The battle for third went to Kachorek as the road racer was the better suited on the final stretch.

Kachorek Battling Early in the Race with Katie Jay Melena and Ellen Sherrill

After their races, both Brems and Bradford had praise for the course despite their sadness over the loss of Golden Gate Park as a cyclocross venue. Several riders echoed these same sentiments.

Elsewhere, Chris Neher (Off the Chain Bikes) finally missed out on winning a Cat C race this season. A mid-race crash took him out of contention. Maciej Wojciechowski (SF2G) came to the fore and and rode on for the win. Miles Keep (CoreTechs Cycling Team) surprised himself in winning the race for Master Men 45+ B. Keep credited his fast start and a steady race against Mike Bower (Peninsula Velo). Sean Estes (Specialized) took just a dominant win in Cat B Men, the final race of the day, leaving other racers far behind.

Estes Decimates the Cat B Men’s Race

Full results from the day’s racing are posted at BASP Cyclocross.

Mike Munoz (Folsom Bikes) Starts Down an Embankment

In the standings for the NCNCA CX BAR, Brems continues to lead Women A for the season and now has a significant gap in points over Sherrill. Scott Chapin (Bicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster) and Keith Hillier (Team Rambsuki Law) head the field for Men A as they accumulate points.

Brian Finnerty (California Giant/Specialized) quietly took over the lead for Master Men 35+ A from Don Myrah (ibis/ Two other California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized riders, in Justin Robinson (third) and Gannon Myall (fourth) are close behind in points. Brock Dickie (ibis/ is in fifth place and within touch.

ibis/ riders are ruling the Single Speed A category with Cesar Chavez in first, Tim Canard in second, and Mike Morgan in third. Chavez has a good points lead over his team mates.

At the top of the standings for Master Women 35+, Janel Lodge (Bicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster), Janie Dalton (Missing Link/3rd Rail), and Beverly Chaney (Team Roaring Mouse) are covered by four points. Only Lodge has yet to win a race this season but her consistent podium finishes has her leading the category. Lodge, Dalton, and Chaney look to make this an exciting category to watch.

Complete standings for the NCNCA CX BAR are complete and up-to-date through 25 November 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s